St. John the Evangelist, Waterford, Celebrates 150th Anniversary
by Barb Fanjoy
At 10:30 on Sunday morning, August 24, St. John the Evangelist church in Waterford was filled to over flowing with a congregation of present and past members as well as friends from the community. They gathered to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the consecration of the church by Bishop Medley in August of 1864. Many of those present dressed in period costume and the hymns and music reflected what would have been sung and heard in those days. The Rev. Allen Tapley, the rector, conducted the service and Bishop-elect David Edwards preached. Many lay people participated in the service as well. Following the service the congregation moved on to the Waterford Community Centre to peruse displays and information chronicling the history of the church’s history and to enjoy an amazing meal. An entire roasted pig was served with salads, rolls and, of course, anniversary cake.
In the photo on the left, are Dianne McKay and Murray Hawkes (the oldest living member of St. John’s congregation) who embraced the spirit of the event by wearing period costumes to the service and taking an after the service stroll through the churchyard.
St. John the Evangelist is a beautiful place of worship set on a hillside in the picturesque village of Waterford. It has seen countless baptisms, weddings, funerals, and gatherings for many generations. Renovated many times, the building is in excellent repair. The wardens, anniversary committee and the entire congregation are grateful to everyone who helped in any way to make this celebration a blessing to those who attended.